CAR gears for LHEPC; BSU is overall champ in reg’l confab

By upao - Posted on 22 December 2014

The Mountain Collegian (MC), official student publication of Benguet State University (BSU), emerged as the overall champion in the 16th Regional Higher Education Press Conference which primarily aimed to enhance community resilience through campus journalism held at the Baguio-Benguet Community Credit Cooperative (BBCCC), Assumption Road, Baguio City last Dec. 11-13.

BSU was followed by The Loquitor of the King’s College of the Philippines who ranked first runner-up, while the Cordillera Bulletin of the Cordillera Career Development College placed second runner-up. Also, The Atom of the Baguio College of Technology and The Flame of Baguio Central University won third and fourth runners-up, respectively.

Overall points gathered were from both individual and group events. The individual events include News Writing, English and Filipino categories; Editorial Writing, English and Filipino; Sports Writing, English and Filipino; Column Writing, English and Filipino; Feature Writing, English and Filipino; Poetry Writing, English and Filipino; Development Communication Writing, English and Filipino; Comic Strip, English and Filipino; Editorial Cartooning, English and Filipino; Literary Graphics, English and Filipino; Copy Reading, English and Filipino; Photojournalism, English and Filipino; and Lay-outing. The group events, on the other hand, include Best News Page, Best Editorial Page, Best Feature Page, Best Development Communication Page, Best Literary Page, Best Sports Page, and Best in Page Design for Tabloid, Magazine, Newsletter, and Broadsheet. Moreover, Literary Folios were judged for Best Literary Page, Best Cover Page, and Best Lay-out.

The judges were Frank Cimatu of the Philippine Daily Inquirer; Jimmy Fong of the University of the Philippines – Baguio; Alfred Dizon of Northern Philippines Times; Sam Bautista of Luzon Morning Sun; Dr. Mariano Marchan of CHED-CAR; and freelance artists, Wreigh Jann Tamayo, and Ronald Rabang.

Also, two staffers of The Mountain Collegian were recognized as the highest individual pointers of the said competition. They were Arniel Dumigsi and Harmon Nicer. Other MC staff qualified for the 14th Luzonwide Higher Education Press Conference (LHEPC) of the Association of Luzonwide Tertiary Press Advisers were Rhe-Ann Ngayaan, Richard Giye, Mylyn Maitang, Bobby Mc Gee Lee, Chatelaine Wansi, Kevin Jake Angyab, Ericka Mae Pistola, Brendon Bangco-og, Jerson Sabado Jr, Ceasar James Osben, and Jonel Bacayang.

Other colleges who participated were Keystone College of Baguio City; Divine Word College, Abra; Philippine College of Ministries, La Trinidad; Mountain Province State Polytechnic College, Tadian and Bontoc campuses; Ifugao State University, Ifugao; and Abra State Institute of Science and Technology, Abra.

The top five winners of the individual and group events will be representing the region for the upcoming LHEPC on Feb. 5-7, 2015 at Caggay, Tuguegarao City, Cagayan. # by Chatelaine Wansi and Rhe-Ann Ngayaan